Scientific Council

The Cnr Scientific Council is the authority according to the clause 8 of the Statute of Cnr.

It consists of ten members: seven are chosed amongst a list of highly qualified scientists from Italy and abroad having a wide scientific experience and skills representatives of the Cnr research areas, proposed by a Selection Committee composed of experts appointed on the recommendation of international research institutions and trade unions from the enterprise and economy world; three are elected by Cnr researchers and technologists amongst the Cnr researchers and technologists.

The Council remains in office for four years and members can be confirmed only once. The current Scientific Council was appointed by the Cnr President provision n. 14 02/02/2022, following the Board of Directors resolution n. 25 26/01/2022; members are:


Componenti Ente di appartenenza CV e altre informazioni
Prof.ssa Luisa Torsi
(Vice-Presidente CS)
Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro CV short
Dott.ssa Antonia Bertolino Istituto di scienza e tecnologie dell’informazione "A. Faedo" (Cnr-Isti)  CV short
Prof.ssa Maria Grazia Betti Sapienza Università di Roma CV short
Prof. Andrea Cardarelli Sapienza Università di Roma CV short
Prof.ssa Paola Inverardi Gran Sasso Science Institute CV short
Prof. Alberto Mantovani Humanitas University CV short
Prof. Nicola Marzari EPFL Lausanne CV short
Dott. Vito Mocella Istituto di scienze applicate e sistemi intelligenti “E. Caianiello” (Cnr-Isasi) CV short
Dott. Andrea Orlandini Istituto di scienze e tecnologie della cognizione (Cnr-Istc) CV short
Prof. Riccardo Valentini Università degli Studi della Tuscia - Viterbo  

Assignments of the Scientific Council :

  • it expresses its opinion on the document stating the strategy for the next ten years, on the activity plan for the next three years, on the budget, on the annual balance sheet as well as on the other topics proposed by the president;
  • it expresses its opinion on the strategic projects having national significance;
  • it makes detailed analysis supporting the elaboration of the document stating the strategy for the next ten years.

Last update: 24/05/2024