Science Europe

Cnr is member of Science Europe (SE) a recently founded (Fall 2011) non-governmental European organization made up of 47 member-organizations from 27 European Countries including both Research Funding (RFO) and Research Performing (RPO) Organizations. Science Europe aims at developing common targets and strategies on European science policies and management, thus contributing to improve the conditions for the establishment of ERA (European Research Area).

The main subjects developed by Cnr, together with other research organizations, within the Road Map of the new Institution, deal with Peer Review, Research Infrastructures, Research Careers, Research Integrity and Open Access.

Science Europe (SE) is a non-governmental European organization based in Brussels and made up of several national research institutions from a number of European countries.

In Berlin, on October 21st 2011, forty-eight organizations and research agencies from 23 EU countries have joined the founding assembly of this new Organization for the European Science (named Science Europe), which aims at being the voice of the Agencies funding Science and Research in Europe within the European Institutions' policies.

The new Organization replaces EuroHORCS (European Head of Research Councils), an informal body that had dissolved the previous day, holding its last meeting on October 20th. Initially, the goal was to create a new association which could unify EuroHORCS with European Science Foundation (ESF), the important European institution largely funded by the same member-organizations. During ESF general assembly held at the beginning of the same year, the two thirds majority required for its dissolution was only grazed but, despite the results emerged from the general assembly vote, EuroHORCS decided to go ahead anyway and launched the new organism with a nucleus of research organizations which started to work together with ESF to coordinate the confluence to be performed in a few years, as confirmed by Paul Boyle, the elected President of Science Europe. In order to cement the bond between the two organizations and to support the merging process, Pär Omling, Chief Executive of the Swedish Research Council, appointed by ESF Council as its president, has served at the same time as vice president of Science Europe.

For Italy, Cnr, INFN and ENEA converged in Science Europe by virtue of their membership in EuroHORCS.

Not all European research agencies had agreed on the dissolution of ESF and the consequent loss of supranational funding for basic research thus, when the project was first proposed, some researchers have started an opinion group, called Eulenspiegel Action, opposing the merging initiative.

Science Europe elected its own Board, adopted its charter and established the criteria for membership. Eligible members are all national organizations that finance or carry out research in the 47 Council of Europe member states. In addition to the founding members who have given life to the new organization, further agencies were allowed to apply for membership and a second round of enlargement has taken place in spring 2012, when a special committee had evaluated the applications for admission.

Boyle, a geographer at the head of the ESRC, Economic and Social Research Council, one of the seven organizations that coordinate research in the UK, says that the priorities for the organization will be to find ways for European scientists to obtain open access to data and publications along with freedom in transnational mobility both of funds and of researchers.

The Commissioner for European Union Research Máire Geoghegan-Quinn has addressed the delegates, claiming to be looking forward to working with Science Europe in order to give substance, starting from 2014, to that vision of mobility, known as the European Research Area, and said: "I hope that Science Europe will give a new boost to the representation and participation of scientists in the political process"

In September 2011, seven national research organizations have joined SE, and can therefore be regarded as its founding members (DFG, ESRC, FWO, FRS-F.N.R.S, ARRS, ETFs, SNSF).

It is expected, shortly, the joining of other European research organizations.


Data source: Office for European and International Relations

Last update: 13/04/2016