

## American Physical Society

One Physics Ellipse College Park, MD 20740-3844 www.aps.org

President Philip H. Bucksbaum Stanford University SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

President-Elect Sylvester James Gates, Jr. Brown Theoretical Physics Center Brown University

## Vice President Frances Hellman

University of California, Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Past President David Gross Kavli Institute of Theoretical Physics University of California, Santa Barbara

Chief Executive Officer Kate P. Kirby American Physical Society September 21, 2020

Andrea Cavagna Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche Piazzale Aldo Moro, 7 Rome, 00185 Italy

Dear Dr. Cavagna,

It is my pleasure to inform you that you have been selected to receive the American Physical Society's 2021 Max Delbruck Prize in Biological Physics, which recognizes outstanding achievement in biological physics research. The citation that will appear on your certificate is:

"For the incisive combination of observation, analysis, and theory to elucidate the beautiful statistical physics problems underlying collective behavior in natural flocks and swarms."

APS Honors staff will provide further information regarding your recognition at an upcoming APS meeting.

Congratulations on your well-deserved honor.

Sincerely,

Philip H. Bucksbaum, APS President

Philip H. Buchstam

Cc: William Bialek, Nominator Tatyana Sharpee, Chair, Delbruck Prize Selection Committee Phil Nelson, Chair, Division of Biological Physics Huan-Xiang Zhou, Secretary/Treasurer, Division of Biological Physics